[WATCH] POTUS Awards Congressional Gold Medals to Four Jan 6th Officers

The Senate approved legislation on Wednesday to bestow Congress’ highest honor, the Congressional Gold Medal, on the law enforcement officers who responded to the January 6th attack on the Capitol. The House passed the measure earlier this summer, and the bill was signed on Thursday in a ceremony at the White House Rose Garden.

Majority Leader Chuck Schumer led the unanimous, bipartisan approval of the legislation on the Senate floor. “I cannot imagine more worthy recipients than the men and women who put their lives on the line to defend this temple of democracy,” said Schumer.

WASHINGTON, DC – JULY 27: US Capitol Police Sgt. Aquilino Gonell, Washington Metropolitan Police Department officer Michael Fanone, US Capitol Police Sgt. Harry Dunn and Washington Metropolitan Police Department officer Daniel Hodges pose for a photo following the House Select Committee investigating the January 6 attack on the U.S. Capitol on July 27, 2021 at the Cannon House Office Building in Washington, DC. Members of law enforcement testified about the attack by supporters of former President Donald Trump on the U.S. Capitol. According to authorities, about 140 police officers were injured when they were trampled, had objects thrown at them, and sprayed with chemical irritants during the insurrection. (Photo by Oliver Contreras-Pool/Getty Images)

Rules Committee Chair Amy Klobuchar made a timely comparison to an honor reserved for the greatest and most dedicated athletes: “Well, this is our Olympics, this is our gold medal,” Klobuchar said, “and it goes today to the Capitol Police officers and the MP officers and others that protected us that day.” The committee’s ranking Republican, Roy Blunt, said the medal honors the sacrifices police officers and their families make.

President Biden honored the four men in a Rose Garden ceremony on Thursday where he officially signed the bill into law. The President gave an often emotional speech, telling Officers Michael Fanone, Harry Dunn, Daniel Hodges, and Aquilino Gonell, “It breaks my heart to know that you all were assaulted by violent insurrectionists.”

Watch the full ceremony, below.

Follow Us On: Facebook and Twitter