The Louisiana GOP Censured Bill Cassidy for Voting to Convict Trump, In 1989 They Refused to Censure David Duke

During yesteday’s impeachment vote, Ben Sasse, Lisa Murkowski, Susan Collins and Mitt Romney surprised no one by voting to convict Trump. There were also some surprises, though. GOP senators Pat Toomey, Richard Burr and Bill Cassidy all decided to vote against the ex-president.

Photo by Samuel Corum/Getty Images

Cassidy had previously hinted that he could be a flip. The Louisiana senator had complimented the strength of the house manager’s case on Tuesday. And the lawmaker was quickly punished for voting his conscience by his own party who censured him this weekend.

The Louisiana GOP said of their decision, “The Executive Committee of the Republican Party of the state of Louisiana has unanimously voted to censure Senator Bill Cassidy for his vote cast earlier today to convict former President Donald J. Trump on the impeachment charge.”

The Louisiana senator explained, “If you describe insurrection as I did, as an attempt to prevent the peaceful transfer of power, we can see the president, for two months after the election, promoting that the election was stolen.”

In a tweet posted this weekend, Jake Tapper pointed out that the same body had refused to censure David Duke. The former leader of the KKK ran as a Republican and won a seat in the Louisiana House of Representatives in 1989.

The CNN host pointed out the hypocrisy this weekend writing, “Two seconds on google.”

Follow Us On: Facebook and Twitter