Now Reading
Republicans Vote Against Honoring Police Who Protected Them

Republicans Vote Against Honoring Police Who Protected Them

A dozen House Republicans, including Marjorie Taylor Greene, Matt Gaetz and Louie Gohmert, on Wednesday voted against a resolution to award three Congressional Gold Medals to the Capitol Police, Metropolitan Police Department and Smithsonian Institution in recognition of those who protected lawmakers and the U.S. Capitol during the deadly Jan. 6 riot.

The 12 GOP representatives – Andy Biggs (Ariz.), Thomas Massie (Ky.), Andy Harris (Md.), Lance Gooden (Tex.), Matt Gaetz (Fla.), Marjorie Taylor Greene (Ga.), Louie Gohmert (Tex.), Michael Cloud (Tex.), Andrew S. Clyde (Ga.), Greg Steube (Fla.), Bob Good (Va.) and John Rose (Tenn.) – objected to the incorporation of the term “insurrectionists” in the measure to describe the hundreds of Donald Trump-inspired rioters who stormed the Capitol and assaulted police officers in an attempt to stop the certification of the Electoral College vote that awarded Joe Biden the presidency.

(Photo by Ricky Carioti/The Washington Post via Getty Images)

The resolution states: “On January 6, 2021, a mob of insurrectionists forced its way into the U.S. Capitol building and congressional office buildings and engaged in acts of vandalism, looting, and violently attacked Capitol Police officers.”

It also says: “The desecration of the U.S. Capitol, which is the temple of our American Democracy, and the violence targeting Congress are horrors that will forever stain our Nation’s history.”

See Also

House Majority Leader Steny Hoyer of Maryland blasted the Republicans for voting against the resolution. “It is deeply unfortunate that a number of House Republicans opposed this action as they attempt to erase the events of January 6 and deny the responsibility of a far-right, insurrectionist mob incited by former President Trump,” he said in a statement. “Such disrespect for the heroes who courageously tried to protect the American people’s Capitol is disgusting.”

Most of those same Republicans still to this day continue to deny the reality that there was no widespread election fraud and cannot bring themselves to publicly say Biden is the legitimately elected president.

What's Your Reaction?
In Love
Not Sure

© 2021 Hillreporter.com

Scroll To Top