Now Reading
POTUS Scolds GOP For Targeting 13 Republicans Who Voted For Infrastructure Bill [VIDEO]

POTUS Scolds GOP For Targeting 13 Republicans Who Voted For Infrastructure Bill [VIDEO]

President Joe Biden called on Republicans to stop pursuing retaliation against 13 members of their party who voted to pass the $1.2 trillion infrastructure bill in the House last week, saying he’s never seen things this way in Congress.

Some conservative House Republicans have discussed booting those GOP colleagues from their committee assignments, even though the effort faces little chance of succeeding. Donald Trump has also been privately criticizing the 13 Republicans who voted to pass the bill, questioning why they would give President Biden a win when he’s struggling in the polls. Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene (Q-GA) wrote a lengthy Twitter tirade against her colleagues, sharing their office phone numbers and encouraging her followers to call them.

Democratic presidential hopeful former Vice President Joe Biden laughs during the sixth Democratic primary debate of the 2020 presidential campaign season co-hosted by PBS NewsHour & Politico at Loyola Marymount University in Los Angeles, California on December 19, 2019. (Photo by Frederic J. Brown / AFP) (Photo by FREDERIC J. BROWN/AFP via Getty Images)

While in conversation with Democratic National Committee Chair Jaime Harrison during a grassroots town hall on Tuesday, the President spoke to the chances of reaching a truly bipartisan Congress. “Well, I’m hoping, Jaime, that we can get back to a place where there’s more civility in politics,” President Biden said. “I really mean it. And I’ve never seen it this way.”

He continued, “If they’re a chairman of a committee, they’re trying to strip them of that chairmanship. I’ve never seen it like this before. It’s gotta stop for the sake of America. I know I get in trouble when I talk about bipartisan — these people say, why in the devil would I like any Republicans? Well, it’s important. … Unless we can generate consensus in America, we’re in trouble.”

The 13 House Republicans who voted for the legislation last week are: Reps. Don Bacon of Nebraska; Brian Fitzpatrick of Pennsylvania; Andrew Gabarino, John Katko, Nicole Malliotakis and Tom Reed of New York; Anthony Gonzalez of Ohio; Adam Kinzinger of Illinois; David McKinley of West Virginia; Chris Smith and Jeff Van Drew of New Jersey; Fred Upton of Michigan; and Don Young of Alaska.
Some of those members have faced serious blowback.

During the town hall, President Biden thanked members of Congress, both Democrats and Republicans, for passing the massive infrastructure package, something he noted that his predecessor never got done. He also expressed confidence that Congress will pass the Build Back Better portion of his agenda.


What's Your Reaction?
In Love
Not Sure

© 2021 Hillreporter.com

Scroll To Top