New Republicans for Biden Group Features Jeff Flake and 27 Former GOP Lawmakers

While serving in the United States senate, Jeff Flake made it clear that he was no fan of Donald Trump. In , the Arizona Republican made the decison to retire rather than work with the President any longer.

Photo by Paul Marotta/Getty Images

Flake and Trump frequently sparred during his time in office. On Monday, the former senator again attacked the President and on the same night Trump is to begin the Republican National Convention. This time, Flake has formed a group called Republicans for Biden and he’s joined by 27 former GOP lawmakers.

Along with Flake, Gordon Humphrey and Mark Warner, other signatories include:

Reps. Steve Bartlett of Texas, Bill Clinger of Pennsylvania, Tom Coleman of Missouri, Charlie Dent of Pennsylvania, Charles Djou of Hawaii, Mickey Edwards of Oklahoma, Wayne Gilchrest of Maryland, Jim Greenwood of Pennsylvania, Bob Inglis of South Carolina, Jim Kolbe of Arizona, Steve Kuykendall of California, Ray LaHood of Illinois (who served as Transportation secretary in the Obama administration), Jim Leach of Iowa, Connie Morella of Maryland, Mike Parker of Mississippi, Jack Quinn of New York, Claudine Schneider of Rhode Island, Chris Shays of Connecticut, Peter Smith of Vermont, Alan Steelman of Texas, Bill Whitehurst of Virginia, Dick Zimmer of New Jersey, and Jim Walsh of New York.

A Biden official says of the endorsement, “These former members of Congress cited Trump’s corruption, destruction of democracy, blatant disregard for moral decency, and urgent need to get the country back on course as a reason why they support Biden. These former Members of Congress are supporting Joe Biden because they know what’s at stake in this election and that Trump’s failures as President have superseded partisanship.”

Follow Us On: Facebook and Twitter