Now Reading
Calls Grow to Deny Ted Cruz and Josh Hawley Seats on Senate Committees

Calls Grow to Deny Ted Cruz and Josh Hawley Seats on Senate Committees

Senate Majority Leader Chuck Schumer (D-NY) and Minority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY) are facing mounting calls to deny committee seats to Republican Senators Ted Cruz (TX) and Josh Hawley (MO), both of whom goaded an angry mob into committing a domestic terror attack on the United States Capitol on January 6th that left five people dead.

Photo By Tom Williams/CQ Roll Call

Cruz currently serves on the Commerce, Science and Transporation, Foreign Relations, Judiciary, Rules and Administration, and Joint Economic Committees.

Hawley sits on the Armed Services, Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs, Judiciary, and Small Business and Entrepreneurship Committees, as well as the Special Committee on Aging.

“We are calling on Senate Majority Leader Chuck Schumer to deny committee seats to Sen. Josh Hawley, Sen. Ted Cruz, and other Senators who voted against the 2020 election results,” MoveOn Executive Director Rahna Epting tweeted on Thursday.

The statement reads:

Elected officials like Ted Cruz, Josh Hawley, and other senators who sought to use their power to promote the big lie to overturn the results of the 2020 election – and who incited a deadly insurrection – have no place in the U.S. Senate and most certainly should not be rewarded for their deadly attacks on democracy with seats leading important committees in the next Congress.

Senate Majority Leader Schumer must work to ensure that any power-sharing agreement with Mitch McConnell keeps these insurrectionist senators from committee positions where they can use their influence to further undermine our democracy. Josh Hawley, Ted Cruz, and their allies in the Senate must be held accountable for their attacks on our democracy.

MoveOn is not the only group calling for disciplinary action against Cruz and Hawley, however.

On January 9th, 7,000 students, faculty, and licensed attorneys associated with Harvard and Yale Universities signed a petition demanding the immediate disbarment of Hawley and Cruz.

See Also

Cruz is a graduate of Harvard Law School. Hawley attended Yale. Both institutions are often decried by conservatives as evil bastions of liberal brainwashing.

As well, on Thursday, seven Senate Democrats – Sheldon Whitehouse (RI), Ron Wyden (OR), Tina Smith (MN), Richard Blumenthal (CT), Mazie Hirono (HI), Tim Kaine (VA), and Sherrod Brown (OH) – filed a complaint with Senate Ethics Committee Co-Chairs Chris Coons (D-DE) and James Lankford (R-OK) asking for an investigation into the roles Cruz and Hawley played in the siege on the Capitol.

The complaint also requests that the Ethics Committee probe why Hawley and Cruz mounted a concerted effort to disenfranchise millions of voters in Pennsylvania and Arizona – respectively – by contesting the results of the Electoral College, which Congress was in the middle of certifying during the insurrection shepherded by former President Donald Trump.

Hawley and Cruz “lent legitimacy” to Trump’s “false statements about election fraud by announcing that they would object to the certification of electors on January 6th,” the complaint states.

Meanwhile, Senator Patty Murray (D-WA), the third highest-ranking Democrat in the chamber, has called for Cruz and Hawley to resign.

“Any senator who stands up and supports the power of force over the power of democracy has broken their oath of office,” Murray said in a statement on January 8th. “Senators Hawley and Cruz should resign.”

What's Your Reaction?
In Love
Not Sure

© 2021 Hillreporter.com

Scroll To Top